The Warren winner audience award AAP 2023

11 May 2023

Housing cooperative De Warren, designed by Natrufied Architecture, is the winner of the public award of the Amsterdam Architecture Prize 2023 (AAP 2023). Bicycle parking garage Stationsplein under Amsterdam CS van wUrck wins the jury prize of the AAP 2023.

For the public jury, housing cooperative de Warren is the pinnacle of the concept of 'community'. The residents, or developers, provide affordable housing here, a wide variety of communal areas within the building and a ground floor with a neighborhood function. In addition, it takes a step further in the field of sustainable use of materials.

The Warren
De Warren is a project with 36 energy-positive, wooden, social and medium-priced rental homes that will be rented out in-house to the members of the housing cooperative.

The Warren is a concrete building in terms of construction, the columns on the floors are made of wood, on the ground floor there is 1 load-bearing wooden wall and part of the 3rd floor is a wooden floor with wooden beams. Furthermore, the wood is mainly architectural. For example, facades, interior walls and the concrete staircase are covered with wood.

About the AAP
In 2023, Arcam will award the AAP for the 16th time to the architect and client of the best Amsterdam building of the past year. Every year, the prize draws attention to the best part of the building production within the Amsterdam municipal boundaries. With the Amsterdam Architecture Prize, Arcam wants to stimulate the public debate about Amsterdam architecture.

Return to the news overview

Follow us

© 2024 Pieters Bouwtechniek